Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
My experience so far with sub-ohm vaping
Hi everyone, this forum looked a little lonely so I thought I would write up some thoughts and comments on my experiences so far with sub-ohm vaping.

I have been vaping for about 8 or 9 months and over the last few months I have been building my own coils for various RDA (Rebuildable Dripping Atomizers) and Genesis style (they have a tank) rebuildable atomizers.

I only got into sub-ohm vaping sort of by mistake. It all started when I decided that I didn't want to have to keep ordering replacement coil heads for my Kanger Pro Tanks and stumbled on to a video that showed how to rebuild them using kanthal wire and cotton balls.

[Image: fIqbXaV.jpg]

[media=youtube]xrvwOf13U-s[/media]

I set out to gather the usual tools such as nail clippers, tweezers, small screw drivers, kanthal wire and cotton balls and dug in, working right along side the video.

I wanted to end up with a resistance (ohm) that was similar to the 1.5 ohm coils I had been ordering and following the video I came out at 1.8 ohms which was perfect.

I rebuilt my coil head a few times all with the same results but then something hit me.....

I was doing this to save money and I could save even more money by buying an atomizer that was actually meant to be rebuilt. Previously I had been nervous to get into rebuildable atomizers because I thought it was going to be a huge pain in the rear, But... this whole thing with the Kanger tanks was doing exactly what I would be doing with a true RDA but more difficult because the Kanger coil heads were tiny and it was a real pain to work with them.

Here is the deck (the area of an RDA where you install the wick and coil) of one of my RDA's

[Image: Yv9VmhR.jpg]

That's a lot more room to work with compared to the tiny area you have to mount the Kanger coil lol.